Tags

, , , , , , ,

Lena Dunham (watch “Tiny Furniture” – it’s great) talks about her reading habits and preferences. Don’t let the first couple of questions fool you – there are a couple of quasi-interesting things in there. Or they may just seem quasi-interesting because she’s Lena Dunham.

One of the movies you included in your BAM film festival is “Clueless,” which was based on “Emma.” What’s your all-time favorite movie based on a book? The worst? 

“The Group” is a favorite adaptation. It’s gaudy and sexy and a mess in the best way. I can’t watch the “Eloise” movie or I will also perish.

***

Scientists have beef with Jodi Picoult over her new book, Lone Wolf. Apparently, the information about wolves is far from true.

Picoult’s defenders may make the obvious point: her books are fiction. Why should she be beholden to scientists’ judgment of her work? She can write anything she wants about wolves. Ethically, however, I think it’s a gray area, at best.

Seriously? This is akin to censorship. I’m not a fan of Jodi Picoult, but she can write whatever the hell she wants if she deems it necessary to the story. Barbara J. King can stick it.

***

This is adorable –> Which Dickens novel is the most Dickensian? I guessed right.

***

Why don’t I get professional development points on my teaching license for this stuff?

***

The use of first-person narrative is examined in Middlesex, The Mysteries of Pittsburgh, Emperor of the Air, and Dance of the Happy Shades. That sounds great, but I don’t have the patience right now and a lot of it seems fairly obvious. Check it out if you feel so inclined.

***

I’m a sucker for Southern literature, so I enjoyed reading this interview with Wiley Cash, author of A Land More Kind than Home.

Brad Wetherell: What was the initial germ of this novel for you?

Wiley Cash: I got the idea for the story of the novel when I was in graduate school at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette in the fall of 2003. I was taking a course in African American literature, and one day my professor, Reggie Scott Young, brought in a news story about a young African American boy with autism who was smothered during a church healing service in a storefront church on Chicago’s South Side.

***

I’m also a sucker for Ann Patchett, in case you hadn’t been paying attention.

You were the editor for Best American Short Stories 2006.  Any chance you’ll publish a collection of your own short fiction someday?

I don’t actually write short stories, which means that it’s appalling that I edited Best American Short Stories and even more appalling that I’m being honored by One Story.  I’m a short story fraud.

***

Pretty cool calligraphy in the works at Legacy of Letters.

***

Want to write a bestseller? Try writing a book about how to write a bestseller.

***

On toilet reading. No, really.

The situation in our place: cover of wicker hamper holds the most recent issue of The Atlantic (opened to the article on Louis C.K. for Eric) and the last issue of The Paris Review.

***

The Rejection Generator, for those of us who don’t already suffer enough in luck and love.

***

I think you should know about SlushPile Hell if you don’t already. Follow it. It’s fantastic. See my favorite so far as shown below:

Hello, I am A Christian woman that recently has been lead by the Lord to write books for little childrens and teensagers. I beleive these are blessings from above and I am convinced the Lord will will lead me to the write agent/pupblisher/illustrator.

I’m no theologian, but I wonder if the Lord should first lead you to a dictionary.

Ouch.

***

Why horror matters… and it damn well does.

For example, Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein emerged out of an era where the debate between science and religion was full swing, and if you think the rise of torture films like Saw or Hostel just happened to coincidentally coincide with the events of Abu Ghraib, you’d be mistaken.

Boo-yah!

***

Judge the book by its cover, or at least identify it. I got a few, but I’m ashamed to admit that I did not get Misery.

***

Box sets that actually make me salivate. I own 2666, but my favorite doesn’t even make the list:

 

 

 

 

 

 

***

Johan Harstad talks YA stuff at Forever Young Adult, and I refuse to read it because I have yet to read 172 Hours on the Moon. But you should read it. Both, really.

***

Brian McGreevy, the gothic novel, and where vampires went horribly, horribly wrong.

Did you believe that werewolves and vampires existed?

Fuck, I still do. I’m not exaggerating.

I like him already.

***

How to review books for Fox News.

***

The Greatest Girl Characters of Young Adult Literature leaves out Jo March. Unforgivable.