Tags

, , , , , ,

So, I found this article on spoilers and it looks like it might be really interesting. So someone please read it and tell me if it is. I don’t want to read it myself; it contains spoilers.

***

Dear Poof (Poof is my mom, who frequently reads this blog),
Please do not click on any of the following links related to Bret Easton Ellis and Fifty Shades of Grey. It’s bad enough Jeremy knows about it, but I am still pretending you don’t know what that is and I’d like to keep it that way.
Love,
Mer

Bret Easton Ellis is apparently determined to get Fifty Shades of Grey adapted to film, which may go a little something like this. (I am thoroughly amused by this as it is appearing right in the middle of my Bret Easton Ellis frenzy.)

Even that screenplay might work as long as – I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again – Christian Grey (or at least B.E.E.) is played by:

Tom Hiddleston

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

***

I’m loving The Slant right now, where I’m reading bits and pieces of what Erica Jong has to say about, well, a lot of stuff, and what Joyce Carol Oates had to say about a not-entirely-positive review of Mudwoman.

“I thought that it was a thoughtful review. Obviously, my sense of ‘the Novel’ is that it is a far more elastic genre than Ms. Lee’s concept of ‘realism.’ But all reviews are subjective, including my own, and I could not fault someone for having an opinion.”

***

I’m only on Salem’s Lot right now, and I’m seriously going to have to blow up and hang from my wall this flowchart of intertextuality within the Stephen King universe. I simultaneously love this shit and have little patience for actually breaking it down, so this is perfect for me.

In other Stephen King news, you may have heard that It is being adapted to film – in two parts! Like film film, too, not just miniseries (though I never get tired of the miniseries). The popular concern I’ve heard is… who on Earth could play Pennywise better than Tim Curry did? Good question, and I have no idea. I just know that we said the same thing about someone other than Jack Nicholson playing the Joker. And we were wrong.

***

Classics like Moby Dick in 12 “baby-friendly” words accompanied by felt characters. No, seriously.

***

“Reader, I spanked him.”

A Jane Eyre to compete with the Fifty Shades series… But did it never occur to anyone that perhaps Wuthering Heights lends itself more easily if we want to go the BDSM route again?

Here’s where they should go next with this trend.

***

A brief interview with Jennifer Egan of A Visit From the Goon Squad and, recently, “Black Box” fame.

Where did the idea for a serialised book, built on Twitter come from?
Curiosity about what sort of story might require telling in such short bursts, and a narrator who could make them mysterious and compelling.

***

10 AMAZING comic book covers

***

Consider helping out Fireside Magazine on Kickstarter, which is determined to pay its contributors real money and not just author copies of the magazine. Check out the magazine itself here.

***

Another interview with Lysley Tenorio, whose Monstress I still have not read!!! Agghhh! And just so you know, he’s no hussie.

Rumpus: You must be monogamous since you like working on one story at a time.
Tenorio
: I don’t slut around. That’s why I’m so relieved to be working on a novel right now.

***

New York City Snob Stories

I’ve always been intrigued by New York blue bloods (like the fictional Darlings of Alger’s novel). I grew up in a small midwestern town, so the private-boarding-school, whisk-off-to-Aspen-for-weekend-skiing, ginormous-trust-fund lives of those folks is infinitely foreign to me, and thus infinitely intriguing.