Tags

, , , , ,

Illustration by Jillian Tamaki

Cliche but cute. See the rest of the interview with David Mitchell here.

***

More preparation for NaNoWriMo! Still wish this could happen for me this year, still not gonna happen. Seriously wish this could happen.

***

Jonathan Maberry talks writing and his (many) favorite scary books.

***

I was prone to bouts of romantic longing, and the city only made them worse. At lunchtime I went up to Union Square, bought a sandwich from a deli, and sat in the park to have lunch in the shadow of 19 Union Square West. The building was nothing special; it was an office tower of a certain vintage, what Henry James would have called a “skyscraper” when it had first been built, but now it looked dwarfed and crowded in by the newer city growing up around it. The stone exterior was drab and soot streaked, the exact color (if it is a color) of a wet newspaper. Somewhere in that building, though, high above the square—or so I imagined—in a book lined suite of offices smelling of old pipe tobacco and secret stores of whiskey, Farrar, Straus and Giroux was busy making books.

This bit by Benjamin Anastas is the most readable article I’ve read in quite some time. Give it a look.

***

Emma Donoghue is charmingly waiting for the dust to settle… charmingly, because it’s Emma Donoghue.

***

Ian Rankin’s life is kind of awesome.

If the writing is going well, the hours melt away. I may skip lunch. I may look at my watch and find it’s four or five in the afternoon – where did the time go? I almost always break for dinner, but my mind is still upstairs, involved in the plot. On a really good day I might go back and work until 10 or 11pm. Other days, nothing happens – I sit at the desk and words, scenes or characters won’t come. So I walk away and go to a bar or cafe, then try again later.

Well, lah-dee-dah. I kind of hate him. (Not really.)

***

A tidbit on how Chris Cleave writes.

1. The “somewhat creepy” method: Wearing silent earbuds while in public places to eavesdrop on others.

No one said it was going to be pretty.

***

Super excited to read this interview with A.M. Homes. I feel like she’s kind of a badass.

When I was in D.C. I used to sing punk songs every afternoon as a kid. The East German Ambassador lived behind us. One day he asked, “Who is that black man singing punk rock? When he found out it was me he was shocked. Amy Homes?

This doesn’t exactly change my perspective.

***

Ohmygod IwantIwantIwant!

***

Tips On Discussing Your Self-Published Books

***

10 Questions With (and a Little Liberation From) Johnny Shaw

What’s the worst advice you hear authors give writers?
Most of it. Anytime someone tries to convince a writer, particularly a new writer, that there are “rules,” that person should be ignored.  The idea that writing has absolutes like that is just an admission of a lack of imagination. Sure, there are things that are delicate to pull off, that may require a more experienced hand, but if some kid thinks that he can’t use adverbs just because someone arbitrarily decided a whole part of speech was bad, then the person who gave that advice should be ashamed.

***

Getting real about your agent.

***

Don’t Be Creepy and more advice for conferences and conventions.