Tags

, , , ,

Here’s your chance. With your head down, like someone using a Geiger counter, you make your way across the room. As you pass the person of interest, you gather courage and lift your face, despite everything, but the person of interest is talking to somebody else, and so you keep on going, all the way out of the party and the dorm. And then you’re outside, under the black, unfeeling sky. In that moment there is no one as lonely, lovelorn, and unlovable as you; and yet this feeling of hopelessness mixes, oddly, with a perverse kind of hope, of resistance to the regrettable physical facts, and you’re filled with the desire to write something, to go back to your room and be like Flaubert, solitary and misanthropic and a God-damned genius.

That’s what you were probably like. I know you guys. We recognize each other.

J.M. + J.E. = True Love 4-Eva

What a man, What a man, What a mighty good man

***

It’s very easy to obsess in this business. But I haven’t seen a single shred of evidence that obsession helps careers.

The thing that I have seen, over and over, is people finding success by writing good books.

Konrath’s updated Resolutions for Writers, I like.

***

To my mind, children and teenagers are just as emotionally complex as adults, and so when I’m writing them, I do my best to embrace their complexities, disturbing bits and all, which is pretty much the same thing I’m doing when I write adults.

Chad Simpson talks about Tell Everyone I Said Hi at Fiction Writers Review.

***

Step-by-step guide to query letters.

***

It’s no secret that I’m obsessed with revision. I’ll read pretty much anything about revision that I can get my hands on because I totally hate it. That said…

20 Great Writers on the Art of Revision

***

Tin House resolutions

***

Be these people.

For the love of GOD, don’t be these people.

***

The Joys and Perils of Self-Fictionalization as Portrayed in Four Films – or – Why We Write

I’m pissed I can’t read this, but you know how I feel about spoilers.

***

Why my writing should be shit? Yes, please!

This one I’m coming back to later because I want to make sure I take my time with it.

***

10 Questions With George Saunders…. because it’s all about George Saunders right now, amiright?

***

10 Songs About Writing

***

Six Things Nataly Kelly Learned About Publishing a Book

And #4 just depressed the shit out of me.